Artificial Intelligence, Machine Translation and
Language Processing Symposium 2019

27-28 March 2019
2 Days, 16 Presentations
Virtual Conference - All Online
100% Free

REPLAYS

Don’t Miss a Session

Video replays and presentation slide downloads are now available.

 W1
19:00 AEDT
15:00 ICT
08:00 GMT
09:00 CET
04:00 EST
01:00 PDT

Dion Wiggins
Chief Technology Officer
Co-Founder
Omniscien Technologies

KEYNOTE
Found in Translation – Language Meets Technology

Language is highly complex. Technologies to process and understand and create language related data are evolving quickly. In today’s competitive world, organizations that understand their staff and their customers via data analytics have a considerable strategic competitive advantage. At the same time, there is a lot of hype and misinformation. This opening keynote presentation looks at the current state of language technology in the context of artificial intelligence, machine learning, machine translation and language processing, cutting through the hype to look at real world applications of these technologies in business today. The following 2 days are packed with industry experts, with this presentation acting as a primer ahead of more in-depth discussions.

Dion will introduce some key concepts on a range of topics including deep neural machine translation and artificial intelligence to outline how AI tools can be integrated into language processing workflows that break down language and language barriers. Finally, Dion will explore how language processing in both bilingual and monolingual contexts can find new information that is hidden from the human eye but is actually right in front of us to use in everyday business.

Keywords: Machine Translation, Trends and Directions, Productivity, Innovation, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Industry Experts, Expert Panels, Expert Presentations, Natural Language Processing, NLP, AI, MT, Onsite Translation, Secure Translation, Private Translation, Enterprise Translation.

 W2
20:00 AEDT
16:00 ICT
09:00 GMT
10:00 CET
05:00 EST
02:00 PDT

Bruno Jakic
Chief Technology Officer
KeenCorp

Eric de Boer
Chief Data Scientist
KeenCorp

How Measuring Employee Engagement via AI and Psycholinguistic Analysis Empowers Enterprises

KeenCorp measures employee engagement through natural language processing and renders its output in a real-time leading indicator to analyze behavior through digital communication, available across the organization on a daily basis.. Company leadership can now actively monitor corporate culture, productivity, and ultimately profitability in the same cadence as it now manages revenues, cashflow and physical assets.

KeenCorp replaces traditional surveys and identifies governance & compliance risks long before any other tool does this currently offered in the market place. Ultimately, it enables company leadership to build on culture carriers to leverage values-in-use, fueled by artificial intelligence and psycholinguistics.

Our Chief Technology Officer, Bruno Jakic and our Chief Data Scientist, Eric de Boer, will provide an image of our technology and take the Symposium audience through one of our current use cases.

Keywords: Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Named Entity Recognition, Employee Engagement, Corporate Culture, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence.

 W3
21:00 AEDT
17:00 ICT
10:00 GMT
11:00 CET
06:00 EST
03:00 PDT

Martine Massiera
Sales Director
Omniscien Technologies

Real-World Use Case Examples for On-Premise and Private Cloud Secure Machine Translation

With the advent of GDPR and increased concerns around data privacy and compliance, the way data is being handled is rapidly changing. Private cloud and on-premise solutions are often preferred to hosted cloud solutions as a means to limit risk of transmitting personal data and to have additional levels of control.

Language Studio Enterprise Translation Server (LSETS) was introduced in mid-2018. By providing affordable, high-quality, on-premise, state-of-the-art Hybrid Deep Neural Machine Translation (Deep NMT) with a focus on privacy and security to meet modern enterprise translation needs. The advent of GDPR has certainly been one of several drivers. However, we have seen many creative use cases for the technology beyond what we had originally envisioned from our customers. Many users have been looking for a GDPR compliant technology solution, others have a need for real-time translation for chat-bots and customer support.

This presentation explores some of the use cases that our customers have presented to us for LSETS and shows how an on-premise secure translation server can be used to deliver high-quality translation capabilities to a wide range of applications and tools while maintaining the utmost privacy and securing data.

Keywords: Deep Neural Machine Translation, Deep NMT, Hybrid Machine Translation, Private Machine Translation, Secure Machine Translation, On Premise Machine Translation, On Site Machine Translation, Cloud Machine Translation, Secure Machine Translation, Enterprise Machine Translation,

 W4
23:00 AEDT
19:00 ICT
12:00 GMT
13:00 CET
08:00 EST
05:00 PDT

Renato Beninatto
Chief Executive Officer
Nimdzi

Let’s Not Talk About Trends, Let’s Talk About Patterns

This presentation will look at what is happening in the language space and identify patterns from the past that we can use to model behavior and decision-making.

Keywords: Language Service Provider, Language Industry Trends, Patterns in the Language Services Industry.

 W5
00:00  AEDT+1
20:00  ICT
13:00  GMT
14:00  CET
09:00  EST
06:00  PDT

Conor Bracken
Chief Executive Officer
Andovar

A Practical Guide to Training and Managing Post-Editors of MT Output

Professional Translators have traditionally seen a MT as a threat to their livelihood, but increasingly accept that MT is a productivity tool. LSPs typically did not need to train linguists on the basics of their tasks, other than providing assistance with CAT tools, giving reference materials and providing some QA checklists.

With MT and the platforms that utilize it changing so rapidly, LSPs need to train and manage linguists in their post editing tasks far more closely than with traditional human-only translation.

This presentation looks at:

  • Selecting linguists and setting expectations
  • Payment models for post editing vendors
  • Best practice techniques in carrying out post editing
  • Training linguists for high performance on MT editing
  • Managing linguists on ongoing large projects

Keywords: Machine Translation, Post Editing, Quality Assurance, Payment Models, Expectation Management, Pricing Strategy, Best Practices, Linguist Management, Linguist Selection.

 W6
01:00  AEDT+1
21:00  ICT
14:00  GMT
15:00  CET
10:00  EST
07:00  PDT

Media & Entertainment
Industry Alliance
(MESA) Europe

MESA Members

EXPERT PANEL
The Evolving Requirements of the Localisation Industry
Hosted by David Millar, MESA Europe’s Director of Communications, and comprised of key members of the Media & Entertainment Industry Alliance (MESA) Europe, this panel discussion has been gathered to perform a deep dive on the rapidly changing and evolving requirements of the localization industry with respect to media and entertainment content.

The panel will explore what is driving change and how technology, automation and tools are impacting the day to day operations of their businesses.

If you would like to present a question to the panel, please fill in the Ask Us Anything form.

 
Panel Speakers:

David Millar
David Millar
Director of Communications
MESA Europe
View Speaker Bio

Mazin Al-Jumaili
Mazin Al-Jumaili
Director of Business Development, UK & Europe
Zoo Digital
View Speaker Bio

Michele Smith
Michele Smith
Vice President
SDI Media
View Speaker Bio

Sharyn Hopkins
Sharyn Hopkins
SVP Worldwide Strategy & Business Development
Deluxe Entertainment
View Speaker Bio

Watch Video Replay

Keywords: Subtitle Localization, Subtitle Translation, Subtitle Machine Translation, Artificial Intelligence, Expert Panel, Industry Experts.

 W7

02:00  AEDT+1
22:00  ICT
15:00  GMT
16:00  CET
11:00  EST
08:00  PDT

Dion Wiggins
Chief Technology Officer
Co-Founder
Omniscien Technologies

Automating Subtitle Localization with Artificial Intelligence and Language Processing

In the recent past when the concept of using automation technologies such as machine translation on subtitles it was generally frowned upon and thought of as impractical or to not be viable. With 400,000+ video hours of content processed and published across multiple customers there are strong proof points that this is no longer the case.

This presentation will explore how artificial intelligence and language processing is applied to the process of subtitle template creation, script to dialog extraction, machine translation and editing to assist human experts in the creation, translation and management of subtitles and captions to deliver high-quality output in a fraction of the time of traditional tools and processes. We will introduce the Media Studio Subtitle Management Platform and demonstrates some of the key features, functionality and benefits, including the verified cost savings and productivity gains. We will present a collection of anecdotal customer feedback combined with factual metrics to provide some key insights with respect to time and cost savings as well as best practices, pitfalls and challenges.

Media Studio was built with knowledge and experience gained by processing hundreds of thousands of hours of video content and working with several of the world’s largest and leading video content creators, broadcasters and streaming services. Working with these partners, Omniscien Technologies has developed a deep understanding of the challenges of processing subtitles and automated significant portions of the processes, workflows and tasks.

Keywords: Artificial Intelligence, AI, Machine Translation, Dialog Extraction, Automated Speech Recognition, Voice Recognition, Productivity Gains, Best Practices, Subtitle Workflow Automation, Subtitle Management Platform, ROI, Return On Investment, Case Study.

W8 
03:00  AEDT+1
23:00  ICT
16:00  GMT
17:00  CET
12:00  EST
09:00  PDT

Tommaso Cesano
Head of Business Development
and Strategy
Metaliquid

Video Analysis Applications and Use Cases in the Media Industry

Media and entertainment players are facing relevant changes in services offered and related business models as the traditional meaning of what it means to watch TV has changed as linear TV is not anymore viewers’ first choice.

Up to today despite being the most important asset for broadcasters video content has been a black box: there was no detailed description of what’s happening scene by scene.

In this session we will see real cases of how to apply deep learning technologies to get a semantic representation of what’s happening in video content and how this information can be used to improve asset management and production and deliver engaging experiences to the end user.

Keywords: Artificial Intelligence, Metadata Extraction, Video Analysis, Artificial Intelligence., Data Mining.